creating jobs together

Sabab Lou empowers the poorest of the poor in sub-Saharan Africa. The name of the foundation is Wolof, a West African tribal language, and means “What you must do to attain your goal.” Our goal is to end poverty by creating jobs together.

And that is exactly what we do in agriculture – a sector chosen with good reason. 60 percent of the population in sub-Saharan Africa, a total of 645 million people, live in rural areas. The vast majority work as farmers. But agriculture contributes just 15 percent of gross domestic product. The development and improvement of agriculture therefore offers great potential for combatting poverty.

We actively make use of this potential. Our current projects in Gambia and Ghana support young people and small farming families to cultivate vegetables and grains more productively, and therefore profitably. To this end, we offer training, helping them build skills not just in market gardening and farm management, but also in commercial matters. The aim is to ensure their agricultural activities form a reliable source of income, a business endeavor that is sustainably viable.

Our focus is firmly on entrepreneurship. We enable people to run their businesses independently – making them self-reliant, with no need for subsidies and donations, as quickly as possible.

In other words, we seek to help people to help themselves.

After class, Tabara, Banna and Alasan work in the garden of the Gambian Youth Project ©Sarah Keßler/ Sabab Lou

Tabara, Banna and Alasan work in the garden of the Gambian Youth Project. ©Sarah Keßler/Sabab Lou

Zusammen Arbeit schaffen

Sabab Lou engagiert sich für die Ärmsten der Armen in Ländern Subsahara-Afrikas. Der Begriff bedeutet in Wolof, einer westafrikanischen Stammessprache, „was man tun muss, um sein Ziel zu erreichen“. Unser Ziel: Armut beenden, indem wir zusammen Arbeit schaffen.

Das tun wir in der Landwirtschaft, mit gutem Grund. 60 Prozent der Menschen in Subsahara-Afrika, 645 Millionen, leben in ländlichen Regionen. Die allermeisten sind in der Landwirtschaft tätig. Aber diese trägt nur 15 Prozent zur gesamtwirtschaftlichen Leistung bei. In der Entwicklung der Landwirtschaft liegt also ein großes Potential zur Bekämpfung der Armut.

Dieses Potential nutzen wir. Mit unseren derzeitigen Projekten in Gambia und Ghana unterstützen wir Jugendliche und kleinbäuerliche Familien darin, Gemüse und Getreide produktiver und damit profitabel anzubauen. Dazu bilden wir die Menschen aus und schulen sie nicht nur in Gemüse- und Felderwirtschaft, sondern auch in betriebswirtschaftlichen Belangen. Es geht uns darum, das landwirtschaftliche Engagement der Menschen zu einer verlässlichen Einkommensquelle zu machen, zu einer Unternehmung, die sich trägt.

Bei alledem setzen wir auf einen konsequent unternehmerischen Ansatz. Wir verhelfen den Menschen, eigenständig und damit möglichst rasch unabhängig von Zuschüssen und Spenden zu wirtschaften.

Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe eben.

Gambisches Jugendprojekt: Tabara, Banna und Alasan bereiten die Einsaat vor @Sarah Keßler/ Sabab Lou

Tabara, Banna und Alasan, Studierende im Gambischen Jugendprojekt. ©Sarah Keßler/Sabab Lou